Company Profile

Mutual of Omaha is committed to providing outstanding service to policyholders. Our Corporate Governance program stands in support of that commitment. For more information or questions, contact Richard Anderl, Corporate Secretary.

Mutual of Omaha's board of directors has adopted these Corporate Governance Standards (PDF) for the benefit of policyholders.

James T. Blackledge

Chief Executive Officer

Richard C. Anderl

Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Tracy DeWald

Senior Vice President and Chief Risk Officer

David A. Diamond

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

Richard Hrabchak

Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer

Michelle A. Lebens

Senior Vice President, Enterprise Project Management Organization

Michael A. Lechtenberger

Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Daniel P. Martin

Executive Vice President, Individual and Group Insurance

Stephanie M. Pritchett

Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer

Jeffrey R. Schmid

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Mutual of Omaha Bank

Stacy A. Scholtz

Executive Vice President, Corporate Operations

Daniel P. Neary

Mr. Neary currently serves as chairman of the board for Mutual of Omaha. He previously served as Chairman and CEO from 2004 until March 2015 when he retired from his position as CEO. He joined Mutual of Omaha as an actuary in 1976 and held a number of positions in the Group products area, including executive vice president overseeing that strategic business unit. He served as president from 2003-2004. Mr. Neary is also a member of the board of directors of Valmont Industries. Mr. Neary has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since August 2003 and serves on the Executive and Risk Committees.

James T. Blackledge

Mr. Blackledge was named CEO of Mutual of Omaha and elected to the board in 2015. Prior to his current position, he was named president in 2014. Mr. Blackledge joined Mutual of Omaha as an actuary in 1989 and served in various positions, including executive vice president and chief information officer/chief risk officer, where he was responsible for technology applications and systems infrastructure as well as enterprise risk management. He is a member of the Executive, Investment and Risk Committees.

W. Gary Gates

Mr. Gates retired in June 2015 as president and CEO of the Omaha Public Power District (OPPD) – one of the largest publicly owned electric utilities in the United States. He has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since March 2007. He currently chairs the Risk Committee and also serves on the Corporate Governance and Executive Committees.

Sheila Hooda

With more than 30 years of global business leadership and governance experience, Hooda is CEO, President and Founder of Alpha Advisory Partners, an advisory firm providing growth strategy, NM&A and turnaround services for the financial and business services sectors. Previously, she was Global Head of M&A and Corporate Development at TIAA-CREF. She has also held senior leadership positions with Thomson Reuters, Credit Suisse and Bankers Trust. Hooda has also served as a Strategy Management Consultant with McKinsey & Co. She was elected to the board in March 2016. She currently serves on the Investment Committee.

Rodrigo López

Mr. López is Executive Chairman of NorthMarq Capital Finance, LLC, a mortgage banking company dedicated to providing capital solutions for the multifamily industry. NorthMarq is one of the largest commercial mortgage banking companies in the U.S. with an annual production volume of over $12 billion and a loan servicing portfolio of more than $47 billion. He was previously, President and Chief Executive Officer of AmeriSphere, a company he founded in 1997 and which was acquired by NorthMarq Capital in 2015. Prior to founding AmeriSphere, López was Chief Lending Officer for a life insurance company, where he was responsible for investments in commercial mortgage loans and real estate properties. He has served on the Mutual of Omaha Bank board since 2014. He was elected to the Mutual of Omaha board in March 2016 and serves on the Audit Committee.

Mary Pat McCarthy

Mrs. McCarthy retired in 2011 as vice chair of KPMG LLP, the U.S. member firm of the global audit, tax and advisory services firm. She joined KPMG LLP in 1977 and was admitted to partnership in 1987. She held numerous senior leadership positions, including executive director of the KPMG Audit Committee Institute; leader of the KPMG Client Care Program; U.S. leader of Industries and Markets; and global leader of Information, Communication and Entertainment Practice. Mrs. McCarthy also serves on the board of Tesoro Corporation. She was elected to Mutual of Omaha’s board in May 2012. She is chair of the Audit Committee and also serves on the Corporate Governance Committee.

Derek R. McClain

Mr. McClain is a financial and management consultant and, since January 2011, has served extensively in that capacity to CBRE Global Investors, the real estate investment management affiliate of CBRE Group, Inc. He began his career with the law firm of Vinson & Elkins LLP, where he practiced corporate finance and securities law. Mr. McClain has also served as general counsel and CFO for Trammell Crow Company. He has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since December 2007. Mr. McClain is also a member of the Board of Directors of Triumph Bancorp, Inc. and several private companies. He is a member of the Audit Committee and serves as chair of the Compensation and Evaluation Committee.

James G. McFarlane

Mr. McFarlane is the executive vice president of the Brokerage Services Division and chairman of the western region for Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., one of the world’s largest insurance brokers. He has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since May 2003, and serves on the Audit and Investment Committees and chairs the Executive Committee.

Paula R. Meyer

With more than 30 years of experience in the financial services industry, Mrs. Meyer began her career with the Vanguard Group and most recently served as president of RiverSource Funds and Ameriprise Certificate Company with Ameriprise Financial, Inc. (formerly American Express Financial Corp.). She retired in 2006. Mrs. Meyer also serves on the board of directors of the Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines. She has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since September 2009 and serves on the Compensation and Evaluation Committee and she is chair of the Investment Committee.

Anthony J. Principi

Mr. Principi retired in 2011 as senior vice president and counselor to the chairman and CEO of Pfizer, Inc. From 1989 to 2005, He served with the Department of Veterans Affairs as deputy secretary of Veterans Affairs and as secretary of Veterans Affairs, responsible for the nation’s largest integrated health care system and a national program of educational, housing, insurance, disability and vocational rehabilitation for America’s veterans. He has been a director of Mutual of Omaha since 2005. Mr. Principi also is a member of the boards of directors for Engility Holdings, Inc.; GetWellNetwork, Inc.; and Imprimis Pharmaceuticals. He is a member of the Compensation and Evaluation Committee and chairs the Corporate Governance Committee.

Audit Committee

  • Mary Pat McCarthy, Chair
  • Rodrigo López
  • Derek R. McClain
  • James G. McFarlane

Executive Committee

  • James G. McFarlane, Chair
  • James T. Blackledge
  • W. Gary Gates
  • Daniel P. Neary

Compensation and Evaluation Committee

  • Derek R. McClain, Chair
  • Paula R. Meyer
  • Anthony J. Principi

Investment Committee

  • Paula R. Meyer, Chair
  • James T. Blackledge
  • Sheila Hooda
  • James G. McFarlane

Corporate Governance Committee

  • Anthony J. Principi, Chair
  • W. Gary Gates
  • Mary Pat McCarthy

Risk Committee

  • W. Gary Gates, Chair
  • James T. Blackledge
  • Daniel P. Neary